Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past week, I went to New York City. Having never been, it was quite a treat to see the skyscrapers, museums, Central Park, and the Brooklyn Bridge. It was a whirlwind tour of the city. I stumbled upon many famous sites (the Flatiron Building, the Dakota Building, John Lennon’s “Imagine” mosaic, Alexander Hamilton’s grave, and Van Gogh’s “Starry Night,” to name a few). The weather was lovely and it was nice to see so much green space in New York City. Even better, the flowering trees and tulips were in bloom.

As if New York City wasn’t excitement enough, I have since traveled another 650 miles in the past 48 hours, just to come home for Easter. How could I miss out on family and food? In the spirit of Easter and an early spring, I’ve decided to devote this blog to my collection of Easter postcards. 

All of these postcards date between 1900 and 1915. It’s interesting to see that many Easter traditions have remained the same. The images and correspondence on my postcards show that worship, the exchange and eating of eggs, outdoor games, cemetery visits, and focus on children were common practices.

According to Annie Rose, Easter postcards contain a great deal of symbolism. For instance, eggs represent new life. Many of my cards depict eggs in addition to flora and fauna. You might also notice that several of my postcards appear surprisingly secular, considering Easter is a Christian holiday. This concept was agreeable in the early 1900s, as people considered spring scenes a symbol of Christ’s resurrection.

Do you collect holiday postcards? I’d love to hear about it. Happy Easter and Happy Spring!

