Tags

, , , , ,

And so the blog begins! I must say, it has been a long time coming. I have big plans for this thing. We’ll see how they pan out. In time, I hope to share with you several pieces from my collection. Having acquired so many objects, I seem to have racked up a library of stories in my head. It’ll be nice to spread the word. For now, dear readers (if I have any readers yet), let me whet your appetite with a little vanity scene…

Here we have my Tressemann & Vogt dresser set, c. 1892-1907. I picked it up at an antique mall about five years ago. Let me begin by saying that I absolutely adore roses. You will see them on several pieces that I own. The delicate pink blossoms on this set brought “Sold!” signs to my eyes. I also loved the creamy buttermilk background. Such a nice compliment to the airy porcelain. Believe it or not, the hatpin holder in the center is not part of the set. Rather, it is a Martial Redon piece that I purchased last year. Pretty good match, eh? The vintage French perfume came as an added bonus from a very kind seller.

I realize there are many more objects in this picture, but I think I will save them for another time. What’s the rush? Anyway, homework is summoning me (Folk Housing in Middle Virginia to be exact). Until next time!

