Tags

, , , , ,

Or, Happy Turkey Day! Here are a few postcards from my collection that commemorate Thanksgiving. As you can see, food and family were marketable components of the holiday, even in the early twentieth century. Interestingly, patriotism also seems to have played a big part. This is something we can probably identify with today.

When you scroll through, you might notice that people didn’t always use their holiday postcards during the correct season. They used what they had on hand; a good reminder for us today to be grateful for the things we have.

Hope you enjoy the day!

Ser. 869-1.
“Anna” handwritten in the address portion. Unmailed.

Ser. 5705.
“Friday, March 10, 1911
Dear Mama,
I will drop you a card so you will know how I am. Ear is still aching. I thought once this morning maybe it had broke as I had a most terrible headache this morning, and was trying to vomit[e]. Will go up town and see the Dr. tomorrow. Am weak, only 90 degrees yesterday so you know how one felt. Orlie has gone up town with a pair of pigs, $25 and one male pig $10; ship them into Texas. Hope all are well.
-Flora”
Addressed to Mrs. L.A. Wait of Crofton, NE. Postmarked March 10, 1911.

Printed in Germany. Painting only copyrighted by S. Garre, 1908.
“Oct. 15, ’09
Friend James,
Rec’d your card. Many thanks. Say Jim, it isn’t Thanksgiving yet, but thought I would put you in the mind of such a feast. I didn’t see you at the fair. Heard you were there though. I certainly had a fine time. This is all. Hoping you are well.
I remain your friend,
Eva Hockenbraugh”
Addressed to Mr. James Buser of Fresno, Ohio, R.F.D. #3. Postmarked October 15, 1909.